موارد: مفاهيم أساسية

إليكم بعض المفاهيم المهمّة لفهم الأرشفة. أما بالنسبة للمصطلحات الإضافية المستخدمة في هذا الدليل، إنقر على قاموس المصطلحات.

 نقطة الولوج

اسم، مصطلح، رمز، أو نوع من المعلومات كالتواريخ، يمكن الاعتماد عليها لترتيب مجموعة من السجلات أو البحث عنها. كمثال على ذلك، في مجال فهرسة الكتب في المكتبات، يعتمد على نقاط الدخول أو البحث في الحقول الآتية : اسم الكاتب أو عنوان الكتاب أو الموضوع. في قاعدة البيانات، تعتبر نقاط الدخول أي حقل تستطيع أن تبحث عنه، كإسم أوتاريخ أو عنوان.

الأرشيف

هو تنظيم يتألف من عمل أشخاص وأنظمة متخصصة في الحفاظ على السجلات والوثائق ذات القيمة المستمرة، ويجعلها متاحة لمجموعات منتقاة. الأرشيف أحيانا جزء من منظمات كبيرة كالجامعات والمكتبات العامة ومراكز الوسائل الإعلامية والمتاحف.

الأرشفة

هي الممارسات والقرارات التي تدعم الحفاظ على المحتوى ذي القيمة المستمرة وإثبات أصالتها واستعمالها وسهولة الوصول إليها.

الأصالة

هي ميزة أن يكون الشيء حقيقياً، أصلياً، - موثوق به - غير زائف أو مزوّر، خالٍ من أي تلاعب. الأصالة تعني أن هذا الشيء فعلا صُنع من قبل الشخص الذي يدعي أنه مبتكره، وأنه هو فعلاً حقيقي ويمثّل الزمان والمكان الذي يدّعي بأنه يمثله. إن لقطات الفيديو اللمتلاعب بها والمعدّلة والتي تدعي بأنها ليست كذلك، هي من دون شك ليست أصيلة وغير موثوق بها.

إثبات أصالة اللفيديو يعني التحقق من العلاقة بين الفيديو ومصوره ونقطة المنشأ. المعلومات والوثائق عن الشخص المبتكر لشيء ما ومكان وزمان ابتكار هذا الشيء بالإضافة إلى سلسلة الوصاية٬ كل هذا قد يوفر نقطة انطلاق لعملية إثبات أصالته. 

 

الفهرسة

هي إنتاج وترتيب المعلومات التوصيفية بأسلوب منظم، بحيث يتمكن المستخدم من إيجاد واستعمال وفهم الموارد. تتوسع الفهرسة من البيانات الوصفية (الميتاداتا) الأساسية لتسمح للمستخدمين بالوصول الى المحتوى، بطرق متعددة. 

سلسلة الوصاية

هي توثيق للتسلسل الزمني الذي يُظهر من يحتجز أو يتحكّم بملف فيديو منذ لحظة ابتكاره. القدرة على توفير أو إثبات سلسلة وصاية غير متقطعة وخالية من أي فجوات زمنية هي أحد الأشياء التي تشير إلى أصالة الفيديو ولذا تكون هذه القدرة من العوامل المهمة في استخدام الفيديو كدليل أو إثبات لحدث ما.

الكمال

 هو النوعية المتمثلة بامتلاك كل المعلومات المحتواة في سجل ما عندما انتج، والحفاظ على السياق الأصلي للسجل. لا يمكن الاعتماد على سجلات غير كاملة كما يعتمد على الكاملة، اذ لا يمكن معرفة أي من المعلومات تنقص منها ولماذا. تحويل شيفرة الفيديو إلى شكل آخر يمكن أن يقلل من جودة الصورة ويحذف البيانات الوصفية، مما يجعل الفيديو ناقصاً وأقل موثوقية. الحفاظ على ملفات الفيديو الأصلية وتوثيق السياق وترتيب الفيديوهات بطريقة تحافظ على الترتيب الأصلي للفيديو كلها من الأفعال التي تصب في خانة كمال سجلات الفيديو.

المفردات المسيطر عليها

هي قائمة مصطلحات محددة مسبقا تكفل الاتساق في الفهرسة. بما أن هناك أكثر من طريقة واحدة للوصف أو للإشارة الى مفهوم معين، فإن إختيار مصطلح واحد يزيل التخمين، ويجنب الغموض العادي في اللغة وفي التهجئة. إفرض مثلاً أنك تبحث عن كلمة "دكتور" لتكتشف فيما بعد أنه تمّ استخدام مصطلح "طبيب" في بعض السجلات. إن استخدام مفردات متسقة (موحدة) تساعد كثيراً في القدرة على العثور على السجلات.

القدرة على العثور

هي قدرة المستخدم على إيجاد المعلومات التي يبحث عنها بسهولة.

الثبات

هو مفهوم أساسي متصل بـالتمام. "الثبات" هو ميزة حفظ المعلومات كما هي، بدون تغييرات خلال فترة من الزمن. يحافظ الثبات على "موثوقية" شيء عبر الزمن، وهو أساسي بالنسبة لمفهوم الحفاظ. يتطلب "الثبات" على المدى الطويل سياسات وممارسات تعاطي جيدة وبنية تحتية مستدامة وحماية قوية. تستخدم مراجعات ثبات منتظمة (مثل الحوسبة ومقارنة الشكسوم) للتدقيق في كشف أي تغييرات.

الجيل

الجيل هو العلاقة بين الأصلي ونسخته ويرجع هذا المصطلح إلى زمن الاستنساخ التناظري. في المجال الرقمي، حيث يمكن استنساخ  الملف الأصلي نسخة طبق الأصل، غالبا ما يشير"جيل" إلى تغيير في الشكل أو المواصفات، كما نشهد في النسخة المتداولة H.264 التي أنتجت من ProRes Apple ماستر.

وبالتالي فإن توفّر فيديو في أجيال متعددة، لا يحلّ محل وجود النسخ الاحتياطية طبق الأصل من الفيديو الأصلي.

رزم المعلومات

الحاوية التي تصف نفسها – عادة ما تكون عبارة عن ملف أو دليل مسمى بوضوح – مستخدم لتبقي الوسائل وتوثيقها أو بياناتها الوصفية سوياً.

الموافقة المطلعة

هي عملية ضمان أن يكون الشخص الذي ظهر في الفيديو قد فهم تماماً الهدف والاستخدام المقصود للتسجيل، بالإضافة إلى أي نتائج محتملة غير مقصودة من مشاركته أو مشاركتها فيه. على الشخص أن يمنح موافقته الطوعية، وهو مدركٌ لأبعاد الكشف عن هويته واستخدامات التسجيل.

التمام

هي ميزة الكمال وعدم التغير واللافساد٬ إذ يمكن لملف غيرسليم أن يكون غير صالح للاستعمال أو ذا قيمة معلوماتية وإثباتية متدنية. قد تفقد ملفات الفيديو "تمامها" في حال أسيء استخدامها عن طريقة الخطأ، أو في حال التزوير المتعمّد، وكذلك في حال تلف البيانات أثناء نقلها أو تخزينها بسبب تعطل الأجهزة والبرمجيات. إن الطريقة المثلى لضمان "التمام" هي بإنشاء نظام لمراجعة ثبات الملف بانتظام (مثلا بواسطة احتساب الهاشات ومقارنتها بسجل الهاشات المحسوبة من قبل) وترميم أي ملفات فاسدة من نسخة سليمة (بكر).

Pages

Resources: Key Concepts

Here are some key concepts important for understanding archiving. For additional terminology used in the Guide, see the Glossary.

Access point

A name, term, code, or type of information such as the date, by which a set of records can be sorted or searched. For example, in a library book catalog, access points are author, book title, and subject.  In a database, access points are any fields you can search, such as name, date, and title.

Archive

An organization made up of people and systems responsible for preserving records and documents of enduring value and making them available to a designated community. Archives are sometimes parts of larger organizations, such as universities, public libraries, media centers, or museums.

Archiving

The practices and decisions that support the preservation, authentication, use, and accessibility of content with enduring value.

Authenticity

The quality of being genuine, not fake or counterfeit, and free from tampering.  Authenticity means that an object was actually created by the person represented as its creator, and that it was actually created at the time and place that is represented as its time and place of creation. Video footage that has been manipulated or altered but is represented as if it had not been, for example, is not authentic. 

To authenticate a video means to verify the relationship between it and its creator and point of creation. Documentation about who created something, when and where it was created, and the chain of custody can provide a starting point for this authentication process.

Cataloging

Creating and organizing descriptive information in a structured way so that resources can be found, used, and understood.  Cataloging expands on basic metadata, and enables users to access content in multiple ways. 

Chain of Custody

Chronological documentation that shows who has held or controlled a video file from the moment it was created. The ability to show an unbroken chain of custody is one important indicator of the authenticity of a video, and therefore a factor in using video as evidence.

Completeness

The quality of having all of the information a record contained when it was created, and that its original context is maintained.  Incomplete records are not as reliable as complete ones, since one might not know what information is missing and why.  Transcoding a video to another format can reduce the image quality and discard metadata, making the video less complete and therefore less reliable. Keeping original video files, documenting context, and organizing videos in a way that maintains the original order of video files contributes to the completeness of the video records.

Controlled Vocabulary 

A predefined list of terms used to ensure consistency in cataloging. Since there is usually more than one way to describe or refer to a concept, choosing one term eliminates guesswork and circumvents the normal ambiguities of language (and spelling).  Imagine searching for “Doctors” only to later learn that some records use the term “Physicians”.  Consistent vocabularies increase the findability of records.

Findability

The ability of a user to easily find what they are looking for.

Fixity

Related to integrity, the quality of being unchanged over a given period of time.  Fixity maintains the authenticity of an object over time, and is key to the concept of preservation. Long-term fixity requires good policies and handling practices, sustainable infrastructure, and strong security. Regular fixity checks (e.g. computing and comparing checksums) are used to detect changes.

Generation

The relationship between a copy and its original. This term originates from the time of analog copying. In the digital realm, where it is possible to create exact copies of originals, generation usually implies a change in format or specifications, such as an H.264 access copy generated from an Apple ProRes master. Having a video available in multiple generations is therefore not a replacement for having exact backup copies of your originals.

Information Package 

A self-describing container - usually a clearly named folder or directory - used to keep media and its related documentation or metadata together.  

Informed Consent

The process of ensuring that a person identified in a video fully understands the purpose and intended use of the recording, as well as any potential unintended consequences of his or her participation. With this awareness, the person must voluntarily give his or her permission to be identified and for the recording to be used.

Integrity

The quality of being whole, unaltered, and uncorrupted. A file that is not intact may not be usable or may have decreased informational and evidential value. Videos files can lose their integrity if they are accidentally mishandled, deliberately tampered with, or if data corruption occurs in transfer or storage due to hardware or software malfunction. The best way to ensure integrity is to establish a system to check file fixity regularly (e.g. by computing hashes and checking them against a registry of previously computed hashes) and to restore any corrupted files from an intact copy.

Pages