موارد: مفاهيم أساسية

إليكم بعض المفاهيم المهمّة لفهم الأرشفة. أما بالنسبة للمصطلحات الإضافية المستخدمة في هذا الدليل، إنقر على قاموس المصطلحات.

التشغيل البيني

هي ميزة تبادل المعلومات مع نظام آخر في مجال أنظمة تكنولوجيا المعلومات، والتمكن من استخدام هذه المعلومات. يتعزز التشغيل البيني من خلال المفردات المسيطر عليها ومعايير البيانات الوصفية (الميتاداتا) واستخدام الأشكال المعتمدة والمنتشرة على نطاق واسع.

إدارة الوسائل الاعلامية

هي عملية تتبع الوسائل الإعلامية، كملفات الفيديو التي حفظتها ضمن مجموعتك، والإشراف على أي نشاط ينفّذ على وسائلك، كالتحديث أو الترحيل أو الاحتفاظ بـنسخة احتياطية.  يمكن أن تنفذ إدارة الوسائل يدوياً، أم بمساعدة نظام برمجيات (كنظام إدارة أصول الوسائل الاعلامية).

البيانات الوصفية (الميتاداتا)

هي أي معلومات عن فيديو معيّن: من المعلومات التقنية المضمنة في الملف التي تسمح بتشغيل الفيديو، كــشكل الملف ومدته، إلى المعلومات الوصفية عن المحتوى لمساعدتك على فهمه أو اكتشافه -- ككلمات المفاتيح والقيود الأمنية والمواقع الجغرافية إلى آخره. إن البيانات الوصفية (الميتاداتا) أساسية بالنسبة لأي إستخدامات مستقبلية، ومهمة طوال عملية الأرشفة.

  بغضّ النظر عمّا يقال أحياناً، لا تتحدث الصور عن نفسها أبداً. تحتاج الصور لأن توضع في سياق معين وإلى وصفٍ ما لتُفهم، وللتأكيد على حقيقتها (واقعيتها)، وليبقى الوصول إليها ممكناً مهما كانت تتسع ذاكرة شخص واحد أو ذاكرة سطح المكتب. 

من الممكن أن تتولد البيانات الوصفية (الميتاداتا) أوتوماتيكياً ويتمّ تضمينها في الملف، كالبيانات الوصفية التقنية، أو البيانات المسجّلة يدوياً على وسيطة خارجية، كما هي الحال مع الأوصاف، واعلام الأمن (الحماية)، وكلمات المفاتيح في قاعدة البيانات. في بعض الأحيان، تلتقط البيانات الوصفية (الميتاداتا) إحتياجات يجب أن تُدخل يدوياً على جهازك، مثل ما يحصل مع GPS أو خدمات الموقع.

الهجرة

هو عملية أعادة الترميز أو نقل البيانات من الشكل الرقمي أو المادي الى شكل آخر لضمان إمكانية وصول المعلومات عندما  يصبح الشكل قديماً وباطلاً مع مرور الزمن.

الباطلة

هي عملية أن تصبح الأشياء عتيقة وغير معتمدة من قبل التكنولوجيا المتوفرة في السوق. فمن الممكن لكاميرات الفيديو و أشكال الفيديو ووسائط التخزين وأجهزة الحفظ أن تـصبح باطلة الاستعمال مع مرور الزمن. تبقى تكنولوجيا  القديمة والباطلة قادرة على إكمال وظيفتها، لكنها تصبح مع الوقت غير صالحة للاستعمال، لأن التكنولوجيات الأخرى التي تعتمد عليها تكون قد توقفت عن دعمها. فكاميرا فيديو قديمة مثلا، لا يمكنها أن تربط بسلك في أجهزة الكومبيوتر الجديدة؛ ولا يمكن لفيديو مسجلّ بالشكل القديم ربما  أن يعمل على مشغلات فيديو جديدة لسطح المكتب.

الملف الأصلي

"الملف الأصلي" في المجال الرقمي، هو عبارة عن أي نسخة من الملف مطابقة فعلياً (بت إلى بت قطعة-قطعة) للملف الأصلي عندما أنتج. وذلك يعني أنه خالٍ من أي تعديلات متعمّدة أو غير متعمدة لأي جانب من جوانب الملف، بما في ذلك شكله ومواصفاته التفنية.

الترتيب الأصلي

هو مبدأ أرشفة الملفات والحفاظ عليها باعتماد الترتيب عينه عند ابتكارها. إن الترتيب الأصلي مهم للحفاظ على السياق العام والعلاقة بين الملفات الفردية، لكي يفهم كل ملف وحده وكجزء من الكل أيضا. إن الحفاظ على الملفات بسياقها الأصلي، يجعلها أكثر موثوقية واكتمالا.

الحفاظ

هي عملية ضمان إمكانية إيجاد المحتوى الموثوق به (المثبتة أصالته) على المدى الطويل الأجل. يشمل الحفاظ الرقمي تجنّب فقدان أو تلف الأشياء الرقمية، وإطالة وجودها (حياتها) إلى أبعد حدّ من عمر وسائطها أو تكنولوجيا تخزينها. يحتاج الحفاظ إلى موارد والتزام وعمليات (إجراءات) مستمرة.

التحديث 

هو عملية استنساخ البيانات من وسيطة تخزين الى أخرى لضمان استمرار الوصول الى المعلومات، عندما تصبح وسيطة التخزين باطلة أوعندما تتفتت مع مرور الزمن. إن التحديث هو واحدة من الاستراتجيات لتجنب فقدان  المعلومات الرقمية.

الانتقاء

هي عملية تحديد المواد التي تود اكتسابها أو للحفاظ عليها، بسبب قيمتها الثابتة. يساعد وضعك لمعايير الاختيار (الإنتقاء) أو سياسة الانتقاء على ضمان الحيازة والحفاظ على أهم الأشياء فقط.

المعرّف الأوحد

هو رقم أو كلمة أو رمز لتحديد، من دون غموض، شيء من أشياء أخرى ضمن مجموعة. تتضمن المعرفات الفريدة الشائعة تسجيلات دخول الكمبيوتر، وأرقام بطاقات الائتمان، وأرقام الهوية الضريبية، الى آخره. تطبيق المعرّفات الفريدة من  نوعها لملفات الفيديو يسهّل تحديد وتمييز وترتيب الفيديوهات والوثائق المتعلقة بها.

سير العمل

هو خريطة عمليات وأدوار لنشاطات تحتاج إلى مراحل متعددة وعادة ما يتضمن جهود أكثر من شخص واحد. 

إن المراقبة والمساءلة والاتساق هي مفاتيح أساسية ومهمة لأرشفة فعّالة. لكن الأرشفة تتضمن عدة مراحل وربما العديد من الأشخاص. لذلك من المهم تحديد الأدوار وتوثيق الإجراءات، ليفهم الأشخاص الذين يعملون في أماكن موزعة  مسؤولياتهم٬ وكي ينتجوا نتايج صالحة للاستعمال، وليضمنوا السلامة والأمن. ليس من الضرورة أن يكون سير العمل معقدا، لكنه أداة مفيدة لوضع خطة لمشروعك.

Pages

Resources: Key Concepts

Here are some key concepts important for understanding archiving. For additional terminology used in the Guide, see the Glossary.


In an information technology (IT) system, the quality of being able to exchange information with another system and being able to use that information. Using widely adopted formats, metadata standards, and controlled vocabularies enhances interoperability.

Media Management 

The process of keeping track of media, such as the video files in your collection, and overseeing any actions performed on your media, such as backup, refreshment or migration. Media management can be performed manually, or with the aid of a software system (e.g. a media asset management (MAM) system).


Any information about a video: from technical information embedded in the file that allows the video to function, such as format and duration, to descriptive information about the content to help you understand or find it--such as keywords, security restrictions, geographic locations, and so on.  Metadata is critical to any future use, and is important throughout the archiving process.

Despite what is sometimes said, images almost never speak for themselves.  They require context and description to make sense, to corroborate their factuality, and to be accessible beyond one person’s memory or desktop.

Metadata can be automatically generated and embedded in the file, such as with technical metadata, or it can be manually recorded on an external medium, such as with descriptions, security flags, and keywords in a database. Metadata capture sometimes needs to be manually enabled on your device, such as with GPS or location services.


The process of re-encoding or transferring data from one digital or physical format to another to ensure long-term accessibility of the information as the format becomes obsolete and unusable over time.


The process of becoming out-of-date and unsupported by available technology. Video cameras, video formats, storage media and storage devices, can all become obsolete over time. The obsolete technology is functional but is unusable because the other technologies they depend on no longer support them. An old video camera, for example, may not be able to plug into new computers, or an old video format might not be playable on new desktop video players.

Original File

In the digital realm, the “original file” is any copy of a file that is exactly the same (i.e. bit-for-bit) as the file in question when it was created. This means that there are no accidental or deliberate alterations to any aspect of the file, including its format and technical specifications.

Original Order

The archival principle of maintaining files in the same order they were created. Original order is important to preserve context and the relationship between individual files, so that you can make sense of each file and of the whole. Keeping files in their original context makes them more complete and reliable.


The process of ensuring the long-term accessibility of authenticated content. Digital preservation involves preventing loss or damage to digital objects, and extending their existence beyond the lifespan of their storage media or technology.  Preservation requires ongoing resources, commitment and actions.


The process of copying data from one storage medium to another to ensure continued access to the information as the storage medium becomes obsolete or degrades over time. It is one strategy for avoiding loss of digital information.


The process of identifying materials to be acquired, or to be preserved, because of their enduring value.  Having selection criteria, or a selection policy, helps ensure you acquire and save only what is most important.

Unique Identifier

A number, word, or symbol for unambiguously identifying and distinguishing an object from other objects in a set. Common everyday unique identifiers include computer logins, credit card numbers, tax ID numbers, and so on. Applying unique identifiers to video files makes it easier to identify, distinguish, and organize videos and related documents.


A map of processes and roles for activities that require multiple stages and usually more than one person.

Control, accountability, and consistency are key to effective archiving, yet archiving involves many steps and potentially many people. It is therefore important to clearly define roles and document procedures so that people working in distributed locales understand their responsibilities, produce usable results, and ensure safety and security. Workflows need not be complex, but are often a helpful tool to plan your work.