حافظ : المقدمة

 "الحفاظ" يعني ضمان الوصول إلى مجموعتك على المدى البعيد. كل الإجراءات المشار إليها في هذا الدليل لغاية هذه المرحلة، هي جزء من عملية الحفاظ الرقمي. لكن، أوجه الحفاظ على المدى الطويل تتطلب المزيد من الالتزام والإجراءات. في معظم الأحيان، لا يمكنك القيام بذلك لوحدك. حتى أكبر المؤسسات تحتاج للتعاون في هذا المجال، عندما تصل المسألة لعملية الحفاظ. 

السيناريو

الشراكة مع مركز أرشيف

ينتج مركز حقوق الإنسان فيديوهات لحملاته. وعلى مدى السنوات، نمت مجموعة الفيديوهات التي صورتها المنظمة بانتظام من أعمالها لتصبح مجموعة كبيرة. بنت المنظمة أرشيفها مع مرور الزمن، وقامت حالياً بتوظيف مسؤول عن الأرشيف وبنت نظاماً مستقراً لإدارة مجموعته.

ويدرك المركز أن الفيديوهات التي بحوزته لديها قيمة تاريخية وتربوية مهمّة، ولكنها لا تمتلك التفويض أو الإمكانات لتأمين الوصول الخارجي لهذه المجموعة، فلم يتمكن الباحثون ابداً من استخدام هذه المجموعة.

في النهاية، يقرر المركز أن يبحث عن مكتبة جامعة بارزة، تركّز بشكل خاص على جمع كل ما يتعلق بحقوق الإنسان. بعد عدد من المفاوضات، يوافق المركز على إيداع نسخ من كامل مجموعة الفيديو في المكتبة الرقمية للجامعة كمستودع مفتوح أمام الباحثين والعلماء وعامة التاس. يحوّل المركز نسخ مجموعته وفهرسه الى مكتبة الجامعة البارزة، ويبقي في الوقت عينه أرشيفه الخاص لدعم أعمال حملاته الجارية.

إنتبه!

اِحمِ المعلومات الحساسة

إن كنت تتعامل مع أرشيف معين، تأكّد من إعلام مركز الأرشيف بكافة القيود الأمنية على فيديوهاتك. 

ماذا بعد ذلك؟

جوانب الحفاظ الطويلة الأجل
احسب حساب الإعتبارات الطويلة الأجل.

رتّب بحسب الأهمية من أجل الحفاظ
كيف تزيد الاستفادة الى أقصى حد من الموارد المحدودة من أجل الحفاظ.

التعامل مع أرشيف معيّن
عماذا تبحث في أرشيف محتمل من أجل مجموعتك.

خيارات أخرى للحفاظ.
بدائل للعمل عدا المؤسسات الأرشيفية.

Preserve: Introduction

Preservation means ensuring the long-term accessibility of your collection. All of the actions outlined in this guide up to this point are part of the digital preservation process. However, the long-term aspect of preservation requires additional commitment and actions. In most instances, you cannot do this alone. Even the biggest institutions need to collaborate when it comes to preservation.

A Scenario

Partnering with an Archive

The Center for Human Rights produces videos for its campaigns. Over the years, the videos have grown into a large collection, which the organization regularly draws upon in its work. The organization has built its archive up over time, and it now employs an Archivist and has a stable system for managing its collection.

The Center recognizes that its videos have important historical and educational value, but does not have the mandate or resources to provide external access, so no researchers have ever been able to make use of the collection.

Eventually, the Center decides to reach out to Major University Library,  which has a collecting focus on human rights. After some negotiation, the Center agrees to deposit a copy of all of its videos in the library’s digital repository for research, scholarly, and public access. The Center transfers copies of its collection and catalog to the MU Library, while maintaining its in-house archive to support its ongoing campaign work.

Caution!

Protect sensitive information

If you work with an archive, make sure that you inform the archive of all security restrictions on your videos.

What’s Next

Aspects of Long-Term Preservation
Long-term considerations to keep in mind.

Prioritizing for Preservation
How to maximize limited resources for preservation.

Working with an Archive
What to look for in a potential archive for your collection.

Other Preservation Options
Alternatives to working with an archival institution.