خزّن : المقدمة

إن التخزين ليس فقط جهاز أو خدمة تستعملها لتحفظ فيديوهاتك٬ هو أيضاً عملية تتطلب عدداً من الإجراءات والممارسات لضمان أن المادة الإعلامية لم تمسّ، وآمنة و يمكن الوصول اليها. إن إنتاج النسخ، ومراقبة الملفات، والتحكّم بالوصول، وإنعاش الأجهزة هي مجموعة من الاستراتيجيات لإبقاء فيديوهاتك محميّة داخل مكان حفظها.

السيناريو

 مجموعة خاصة لناشط

يقوم راين بتصوير عدد متنوع من الأحداث، والاحتجاجات، والاجتماعات التي شارك بها في السنة الأخيرة. لقد تمكن من تجميع مجموعة تفوق مئة فيديو تخدم بمجملها كوثيقة للتحرك الاجتماعي الذي ينتمي إليه. يحتفظ راين بفيديوهاته على وحدة (4bay RAID 5 Firewire "الفايرواير") في منزله، ويقوم بدعمها بقرص صلب خارجي مستخدماً الـ"تايم ماشين". يحتفظ راين بفيديوهاته منفصلة عن ملفات فيديوهات العائلة، ويضع إذناً بمشاهدة فيديوهاته قراءة فقط، كي يحميها من أن تتعرض للمسح عن طريق الخطأ. وعندما تمر بضعة أشهر، يصنع نسخاً من مجموعته ويحفظها في قرص صلب يأخذه عند منزل أخيه.

يكتسح اعصار المنطقة أثناء إمضاء راين إجازته، ويحدث طوفاناً في منزله. فتتعطل وحدة "الفايرواير" بسبب المياه لدرجة لا يمكن إصلاحها. ولتسوء الأحوال أكثر، تتعرض النسخة الاحتياطية الـ"تايم ماشين" التي كانت على نفس الرّف الى التلف. معظم مجموعة راين تستعاد بفضل النسخ التي أتى بها إلى منزل أخيه منذ شهرين. 

إنتبه!

احترس من التهديدات المادية

قد تكون أجهزة التخزين معرّضة للسرقة المادية أو المصادرة أو التدمير. اِحمِ مجموعاتك المخزّنة من خلال التحكّم بالوصول (كإغلاق غرفة بالمفتاح)، ومراقبة المنطقة (من خلال كاميرا حماية، وجهاز إنذار)، ومن خلال إبعادها عن المخاطر المادية (كإبعادها عن النوافذ، ووحدات التدفئة أوالمكييفات، ورفعها عن الأرض).

احترس من تهديدات الشبكات

إن كانت أجهزة تخزينك متصلة بشبكتك، فستكون معرّضة للقرصنة والبرمجيات الخبيثة كالفيروسات أو برامج التجسس. بعض الإجراءات الاحتياطية تشمل التأكد من حيازتك على برنامج "فايروال" وأنه تمّ تشغيله، وعدم القيام بتحميل أو فتح أي ملفات مرفقة الاّ من مصادر موثوقة ومعروفة، واستخدام كلمات سرّ قوية وغير مكشوفة.

شفّر بشكل ذكي

إن تشفير أجهزة التخزين الخاصة بك والمجلدات من الممكن أن يكون محفوفاً بالمخاطر. ففي حين يحمي التشفير المعلومات الحساسة من أن تقرأ من قبل الأشخاص الخطأ، من الممكن أن يعني ذلك أن معلوماتك محجوزة إلى الأبد إن نسيت مفتاحها. بحسب نوع التشفير، من الممكن ألا تتمكن من "كسر" أو فكّ شيفرة ملفاتك من دون مفتاح. 

ماذا بعد ذلك؟ 

إستراتيجيات التخزين
تقنيات إدارة تخزينك.

مخزن المواد الاعلامية/ الأدوات الالكترونية
أنواع الحفظ للمواد الاعلامية أو الأجهزة التي من الممكن أن تكون الأفضل لك.

Store: Introduction

Storage is not just the device or service you use to hold your videos; it also requires a set of actions or practices to ensure your media stays intact, secure, and accessible. Making copies, checking files, controlling access, and refreshing your devices are simple strategies for keeping your videos safe while in storage.

A Scenario

An Activist’s Personal Collection

Ryan has been filming various events, protests, and meetings that he has participated in for the past year. He has amassed a collection of over a hundred videos that serve as a document of the social movement that he is part of. He stores his videos on a 4-bay RAID 5 Firewire unit at home, which is backed up to an external hard drive using Time Machine. To protect against accidental deletion, Ryan keeps his videos separate from his family’s other files, and sets read-only permissions on the videos. Also, every couple of months, he makes a copy of his collection on a hard drive and brings it to his brother’s house.

A hurricane sweeps in to the region while Ryan is on vacation, causing major flooding in his home. The Firewire unit is water-damaged beyond repair. To make matters worse, the Time Machine backup was kept on the same shelf as the Firewire unit and is also damaged. Most of Ryan’s collection can be recovered, however, thanks to the copy he brought to his brother’s house two months ago.

Caution!

Beware physical threats

Your storage devices may be vulnerable to physical theft, seizure, or destruction. Protect your stored collections by controlling access (e.g. a locked room), monitoring the area (e.g. security camera, alarm system), and keeping them away from potential physical hazards (e.g. windows and heating/air conditioning units, and off the floor).

Beware network threats

If your storage devices are connected to your network, they may be vulnerable to hacking and malware such as viruses or spyware.  Some precautions include making sure you have firewall software installed and turned on, only downloading or opening attachments from known and trusted sources, and using strong, uncompromised passwords.

Encrypt smartly

Encrypting your storage devices or volumes can be risky. While encryption protects sensitive data from being read by the wrong people, it can also mean that your data is locked up forever if you lose the key. Depending on the encryption, there may be no way to “crack” or decrypt your files without the key.

What’s Next

Storage Strategies
Techniques to manage your storage.

Storage Media / Hardware
Types of storage media or devices that might be best for you.