حوّل : المقدمة 

التحويل هو حركة انتقال الفيديوهات الالكترونية أو المادية، والبيانات الوصفية (الميتاداتا) من جهاز  أو موقع ما إلى آخر. يمكن أن يحدث التحويل من وقت إلى آخر خلال عملية سير العمل، وغالباً ما يحدث أكثر من مرة. 

يشمل التحويل كافة أنواع نسخ وتحميل وإنزال الملفات بين أجهزة بعيدة أو محلية (من الكاميرا إلى الكومبيوتر، من الكاميرا إلى خدمة "الغيمة"، من القرص الصلب إلى الخادم المحلي، الخ)، والنقل المادي أو إرسال الفيديوهات إلى أجهزة التخزين، كالـ USB أو الأقراص الصلبة.

بظروف مثالية، إن نتيجة التحويل هي ملف مكتمل، غير معدّل، ومتوفر في شكله الأصلي. عندما لا تتم عمليات الانتقال بشكل لائق، من المحتمل أن يتمّ فقدان الفيديوهات، أو يتم تعديلها، أو تصبح فاسدة أو تنفصل عن بعضها وعن بياناتها الوصفية (الميتاداتا) ومعلوماتها التوثيقية. إن تحويل المواد الاعلامية من الممكن أن تكون عملية تأخذ الكثير من الوقت، لذلك من المهم نقلها بشكل فعّال. 

السيناريو 

إيصال الفيديو إلى مكانها المقصود

تهدف "شبكة الصحفيين المواطنين" الى ايصال لقطات فيديو ذات مصداقية وجودة عالية الى أبرز المؤسسات الإعلامية للإضاءة على عدم الاستقرار المتزايد في منطقة بعيدة في بلادهم. تحتاج الشبكة الى إيصال الفيديو من هذه المنطقة البعيدة جغرافياً الى الأشخاص العاملين في الـبي.بي.سي.، سي.أن.أن. أو الجزيرة من دون فقدان البيانات الوصفية (الميتاداتا) الأساسية للتحقق من الفيديو المصور، ومن دون تخفيض نوعية الصورة والصوت. تحتاج الشبكة أيضاً أن تتأكد من أن المعلومات التي وضعت عليها قيود معينة لن تنشر. ماذا عليهم فعله؟

  • بعد الإنتهاء من عملية التسجيل، تقوم سارة بإنزال الملفات الأصلية غير المعدّلة من كاميرتها وتضعها في قرصين صلبين مشفّرين محمولين. كما تضع نصاً مع بياناته الوصفية (الميتاداتا) على أقراص صلبة. 
  • يقوم ياسر بحمل أحد الأقراص الصلبة الى مركز الشبكة المركزي الآمن، في حين تبقي سارة على نسخة من القرص الآخر وذلك لحمايته.
  • في الموقع المركزي، يقوم أحمد بإجراء فحص للفيروسات ويفك التشفير وينسخ الملفات الأصلية بالإضافة الى البيانات الأصلية (الميتاداتا) من القرص الصلب المحمول الى جهاز التخزين الأساسي، الذي لديه هو الآخر دعماً إحتياطياً.
  • تطّلع هالة على اللقطات، وتتفقد إن كان هناك أية معلومات حساسة تحتاج أن تحجب من الفيديوهات أو بياناتها الوصفية (الميتاداتا) قبل أن تتم مشاركتها خارج الشبكة.
  • تختار هالة وترسل بعض الملفات الأصلية وترفقها بشروحات للأشخاص الذين تعرفهم في الوسائل الإعلامية بواسطة FTP.
إنتبه!

شفّرْ الملفات عند الضرورة

إن كانت فيديوهاتك أو المعلومات التوثيقية تحتوي على معلومات حساسة ويكون تحويلك لها معرضاً لخطر ان يعترضها أحدهم، يمكن استخدام عملية التشفير لمنع كشف المعلومات. ليس بإمكان المعترض أن يفك الشيفرة ويقرأ ملفاتك من دون المفتاح السرّي. عليك أن تأخذ بالاعتبار بأن وضعك للشيفرة لا يحمي ملفاتك من أن تعترض. عليك أن تعي أيضاً أن امتلاكك لأي معلومات مشفّرة ممكن أن يعتبر جرماً في بعض الحالات. 

True Crypt هو مصدر مجاني ومفتوح لبرامج وضع الشيفرة ويوفّر تشفير جهاز تخزين أو قسم منه. 

افحص للتأكد من عدم وجود الفيروسات

من الممكن للبرمجيات الخبيثة كالفيروسات أن تنشر على الانترنت والأجهزة المحمولة. إحمِ نفسك من البرمجيات الخبيثة غير المرغوب فيها باستخدام برنامج لتعقّب الفيروسات، ولا تحمّل أو تفتح ملفات مرفقة إلاّ من مصادر معروفة أو موثوق بها.

هناك العديد من الـ"السكانرز" (الماسحات الضوئيات) للفيروسات متوفرة في السوق. منها ما يحتوي ماسحات ضوئيات للفيروسات مجانية كالـ ClamXAV أو الـImmunet أو الـ Clamwin.

وهناك الـClamAV وهو مصدر مفتوح يوفّر محركاً لتعقّب الفيروسات كتروجان، والبرمجيات الخبيثة، وتهديدات أخرى سيئة.

 

ماذا بعد ذلك؟

الإنزال من الكاميرات
أفضل الممارسات عندما تحصل على ملفات الفيديو من كاميرتك أو بطاقة الـ SD.

تحميل وإنزال الفيديو
ما عليك أن تتنبه له عندما تنقل/تحول الفيديوهات عبر الانترنت.

إبقاء الفايلات غير ملموسة (وإثبات ذلك)
.كيفية استخدام العاشات/الشيكسوم.

النقل المادي
استخدام الأقراص الصلبة الخارجية والـUSB لنقل الفيديوهات. 

تحويل الفيديوهات والبيانات الوصفية (الميتاداتا) مع بعضها البعض
وضع الفيديوهات، البيانات الوصفية (الميتاداتا) والوثائق المتعلقة بها مع بعضها البعض لتسهيل نقلها.

Transfer: Introduction

Transfer refers to the electronic or physical movement of video, metadata, and related documentation from one device or location to another. Transferring can occur at any point in a workflow, and often happens at multiple points.

Transferring includes any kind of copying, uploading, or downloading of files between local or remote devices (e.g. camera to computer, camera to cloud service, hard drive to local server, etc.) and the physical transportation or shipment of storage devices, such as USB sticks or hard drives.

Ideally, the result of a transfer is a file that is complete, unaltered, and in its original format. Videos can be easily lost, altered, corrupted, or disassociated from each other and their metadata and documentation when transfers are not done properly. Transferring media can also be a very time consuming process, so it is important to transfer efficiently.

A Scenario

Getting Video to its Destination

The Citizen Journalists Network aims to get credible, high-quality video footage to major news outlets to highlight growing unrest in a remote area of their country. The Network needs to get video from this remote location to their contacts at BBC, CNN, and Al Jazeera without losing the metadata needed for verification, and without degrading the image/audio quality. The Network also needs to make sure that information with security restrictions is not released. What do they do?

  • After recording, Saira offloads the unaltered original files from her camera onto two encrypted portable hard drives. She also puts a text file with metadata on the hard drives.
  • Yaser physically carries one of the hard drives to the network’s safe central location, while Saira holds on to the other copy for safekeeping.
  • At the central location, Ahmed performs a virus check, then decrypts and copies the original files and additional metadata from the portable hard drive to their primary storage device, which is backed up.
  • Hala looks at the footage, and checks whether there is sensitive information that needs to be restricted in the videos or its metadata before it is shared outside of the network.
  • Hala selects and sends some original files with descriptions to her contacts in the news media via FTP.
Caution!

Encrypt files when necessary

If your videos or documentation contain confidential information and your transfer is at risk of interception, encryption can be used to prevent the information from being revealed. The interceptor cannot decrypt and read your files without a secret key. Note that encryption does not prevent your files from being intercepted. Also be aware that possession of encrypted information can be incriminating in some cases.

TrueCrypt is a free and open source encryption software that can encrypt a storage device or partition.
**UPDATE: As of May 2014, TrueCrypt is no longer being maintained. Using TrueCrypt is not secure as it may contain unfixed security issues.

Check for viruses

Malware like viruses and Trojans can spread through the Internet or on portable devices. Protect yourself from inadvertently acquiring malware by running virus check software on your computer and on portable devices before you transfer. If viruses are detected, clean your devices before transfer, and clean again after transfer. Also, only download or open attachments from known and trusted sources. 

There are many commercially available virus scanners. Some free virus scanners include ClamXAV, Immunet, and ClamWin.

ClamAV is an open source anti-virus engine for detecting Trojans, malware, viruses, and other malicious threats.

What’s Next

Offloading from Cameras
Best practices when getting video files off your camera or SD card.

Uploading and Downloading Video
What to look for when transferring videos over the Internet.

Keeping Files Intact (and Proving It)
How to use hashes/checksums.

Physical Transport
Using external hard drives or USB sticks to transport your videos.

Transferring Videos and Metadata Together
Putting your videos, metadata, and related documents together for easy transfer.